Strona g³ówna | Biografia | Dyskografia | Muzyka filmowa | MP3

Hosianna Mantra
POPOL VUH - Albums
Einsjäger & Siebenjäger



aka: Seligpreisungen

LP 1973 Kosmische Musik KM 58009, Germany
LP 1974 PDU Pld.SQ 5082, Italy (quadrophonic pressing)
LP 1974 Cosmic Music/Ohr/Barclay 840.102, France
LP 1981 Pop Import KM 58009, Germany
CD 1992 Spalax 14217, France
LP 1999 Think Progressive TPLP 1.812.048 (180g limited, gatefold cover)
CD ZYX OHR 70025-2, Germany
CD 2004 SPV Recordings 085-70132 (digipack)

  1. "Selig sind, die da hungern
    Selig sind, die da dürsten nach Gerechtigkeit
    Ja, sie sollen satt werden."
  2. "Tanz der Chassidim" 3:12
  3. "Selig sind, die da hier weinen
    Ja, sie sollen später lachen."
  4. "Selig sind, die da willig arm sind
    Ja, ihrer ist das Himmelreich."
  5. "Selig sind, die da Leid tragen
    Ja, sie sollen getröstet werden."
  6. "Selig sind die Sanfmütigen
    Ja, sie werden einst die Erde erben."
    2:30 01:23, 1308 KB (MP3)
  7. "Selig sind, die da reinen Herzens sind
    Ja, sie sollen Gott schauen."
  8. "Ja, sie sollen Gottes Kinder heissen
    Agnus dei, Agnus dei."

Personel: Florian Fricke (piano, cembalo, vocal), Daniel Fichelscher (E-guitar, drums, konga), Conny Veit (E-guitar, 12-string guitar), Klaus Wiese (tamboura), Robert Eliscu (oboe).

Text: Math.-Evangelium
All titles composed and arranged by Florian Fricke

Produced by: Reinahrdt Langowski / Popol Vuh
Recorded at Baumburg/Altenmarkt and Stommlen/Koeln
Engineer: Dieter Dierks
Assistant: Heiner
Photo: Bettina / Kranz
Cover-design: Ingo Trauer / Richard J. Rudow

Tracklist of SPV (085-70132) re-edition:

  1. Selig Sind Die,Die Da Hungern 6:00
  2. Tanz Der Chassidim 3:15
  3. Selig Sind, Die Da Hier Weinen 5:08
  4. Selig Sind, Die Da Willig Arm sind 3:12
  5. Selig Sind, Die Da Leid Tragen 3:39
  6. Selig Sind, Die Sanftmütigen 2:31
  7. Selig Sind, Die Da Reinen Herzens Sind 2:33
  8. Ja, Sie Sollen Gottes Kinder Heissen 2:42
    Bonus Track:
  9. In Love (Du Sollst Lieben) 4:59



4th album, from 1973 ("Songs of Praise"). Following a period when Fricke and Veit became involved with a reformed Gila (recording Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee), they returned as Popol Vuh for this album, adding the additional psychedelicized guitar of Daniel Fichelscher (who would become a key central figure throughout the history of the group) and oboe, konga, tamboura accompaniment. Florian takes over on vocals for once, and within the context of softly flowing/lightly trancing rock this is masterful work.

Forced Exposure catalogue

As stated in the review for Letzte Tage, this is another of the band's highly emotive, lushly expressive works. Unlike Letzte Tage, it keeps a steadier bearing, avoiding pompous highs while inhabiting the quietude befitting so spiritual an album. There is a great deal of dynamicism, it's just kept to a subtler level. Instead of Renate Knaup's impassioned vocals, Fricke himself sings, in a somber, monk-like tone, fully complementing the sense of reserved exultation displayed within the music. Robert Eliscu's oboe playing is especially satisfying; Its somber reediness cuts through the langourous fullness of this highly moving work. -GW

New Sonic Architecture catalogue

Improves on the meditative style of Hosianna Mantra. Fricke sings the lyrics from 'Song Of Solomon' himself, adding an amateurish touch to the music.

Cranium Music catalogue

Translating as 'Songs Of Praise', Seligpreisung builds on the acoustic styling of Hosianna Mantra. However, this outing adds a bit more psychedelic guitar work to the meditative sound and the lyrics have been taken from Vangelo di S.Matteo. Gone is the soothing voice of Djong Yun, having been replaced here by Florian Frickes drones of praise. This album was the first Popol Vuh album to feature Daniel Fichelscher and can be seen as the beginning of the Fricke-Fichelscher musical relationship which is responsible for what is arguably Popol Vuh's greatest output. Fricke first met and played with Fichelscher on Gila's 'Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee' album. Musically speaking, this album is dominated by Frickes piano and Fichelscher and Conrad Veit's psychedelic guitar work. The two standout tracks are 'Selig Sind Die Da Hungern' and 'Tanz Der Chassidim'. 'Selig Sind Die Da Hungern' begins with a majestic piano sequence before launching into a great psychedelic guitar solo courtesy of Conrad Veit from Gila. On the other hand, 'Tanz Der Chassidim' is a more subtle guitar and piano jam which sets the foundation for the Popol Vuh meditative sound to come. The first three tracks are the strongest for they have a feeling of completeness. The shorter tracks do not sound as complete because their development is not as pronounced. This is probably due to the fact that these are songs of praise and worship (pun not intended) which are not focused on the music. Clocking in at just over 29-minutes, this is by far the shortest album in my krautrock collection.

Krautrock Album Database

Amon Düül II's drummer and guitarist Daniel Fischelscher joined Popol Vuh for Seligpreisung, which was originally released in September 1973. Other artists featured on this album are Eliscu, Veit and Wiese. This was the first album of a mystic trilogy devoted to holy books: Seligpreisung, Einsjäger and Siebenjäger, and Das Hohelied Salomos. The bonus track, Be In Love, is a special performance enhanced with violin and oboe from the same line up as Hosianna Mantra in 1973. Be In Love and Maria (Ave Maria) were originally meant to be released as singles

Ryko Dist.